You are here: Home > About BSG > Who's Who

Organisation & Executive Committee Members

Details of our committee members and officers

The Society’s policies and constitution are approved by the membership through the Annual General Meeting, as detailed in The Constitution. There is provision for Extraordinary General Meetings. The Society's affairs are directed by the Executive Committee of up to 15 members, including the three honorary officers, the President, Secretary and Treasurer and additional co-opted members. The Executive Committee meets on four occasions each year.


Secretariat services are provided by Tanya Phillips who will provide support to the Executive Committee and act as the initial point of contact for all internal and external enquiries to the society.

Contact the Secretariat on


Carol Holland


Professor Carol Holland

Director, Centre for Ageing Research (C4AR), Lancaster University

The President works with the BSG Administrator, the Society’s officers and its Executive Committee members to pursue the BSG’s strategic objectives and ensure the smooth day-to-day running of the Society. The President chairs the Society’s Executive Committee Meetings and its Annual General Meeting, and contributes, where appropriate, to other meetings and events hosted by BSG. The President liaises with the Society’s partner organisations and represents BSG in a number of fora, including meetings of the International Association of Gerontology and Geriatrics and the Academy of Social Sciences. The President and President Elect share responsibility for liaising with the local organising committee and BSG Conference Manager to ensure the success of the Society’s annual conferences. Carol is also BSG's ICO. 

Kritika Samsi


Kritika Samsi

Kings College London

The Honorary Secretary, manages the BSG secretariat, with responsibility for membership issues, member recruitment and communications to members (e.g. Newsletter). The Honorary Secretary liaises with the Charity Committee on behalf of BSG and ensures that the Society fulfils its charitable purpose. The Honorary Secretary works with the BSG Administrator to manage the Society’s annual timetable (small grant and bursary awards, nominations to the Academy of Social Sciences, the Outstanding Achievement Award, Executive Committee Meetings and Annual General Meeting). The remit of the Honorary Secretary includes reviewing the BSG’s constitution and managing elections.

Rachael Frost


Dr Rachael Frost

University College London

The Treasurer is responsible for the Society’s finances. This includes financial planning, budget setting and monitoring of expenditure. It also involves managing the different bank accounts held by the Society for investment purposes and day-to-day activities. The Treasurer also works with the accountant on the yearly financial audit.

Executive Committee

Andrew King

TBC Portfolio

Professor Andrew King

University of Surrey

Professor Andrew Kings portfolio for BSG is to be confirmed. 
Gary Christopher

Special Interest Groups (SIGs)

Dr Gary Christopher

'Ageing Well' Theme Lead (Psychological Sciences Research Group),
University of the West of England (UWE)

Support to new and existing Special Interest Groups. Liaison on behalf of BSG with the British Geriatrics Society. Lead of the local organising team responsible for hosting the BSG Annual Conference 2022, University of West of England.

Treasurer Elect and BSG’s Social Media Activities

Dr David Lain

Newcastle University

Responsible for the BSG’s social media activities, including Twitter (@britgerontology), the Ageing Bites channel on You Tube, and the Ageing Issues blog series. Lead of the local organising team responsible for hosting the BSG Annual Conference 2023.
Linda Birt

Averil Osborn fund and participatory research Rep

Dr Linda Birt

University of East Anglia

Promotion of the Averil Osborn fund and participatory research with older people; organisation and chairing of the Presidential Symposium for participatory research at the BSG annual conference; lead of the local organising team responsible for hosting the BSG Annual Conference 2023, University of East Anglia. 

Dr Valerie Egdell

Society’s risk register, its accessibility policy and survey platform

Dr Valerie Egdell

Newcastle Business School

Responsible for maintaining the Society’s risk register, its accessibility policy and survey platform.

Temporary EDI Officer

Professor Christine Brown Wilson

Queens University Belfast

Professor Christine Brown Wilsons portfolio with BSG is to be confirmed. 
Deb Morgan

BSG partners and members in the UK’s devolved nations

Deb Morgan

Swansea University

Responsible for developing BSG’s work around involving older people in research. Also has responsibility for working with BSG partners and members in the UK’s devolved nations.

Review of Generations Review and Photo Archiving

Dr Wendy Martin

Senior Lecturer in the College of Health and Life Sciences,
Brunel University London

Responsible for developing BSG’s communications strategy, including work around the legacy of Generations Review (BSG’s former online newsletter). Publications Officer. Also has responsibility for the Ageing Research Centres portfolio, which involves organising activities that can support the strategic aims and objectives of ageing and gerontology research centres and institutes in the UK.

Chair of Emerging Researchers into Ageing Group (ERA)

Dr Junjie Huang

University of Stirling

Junjie is the Current Chair of the Emerging Researchers in Ageing which provides regular events on topics of interests to emerging researchers throughout the year. She is also responsible for planning and working with the ERA Board to present the day-long Pre-Conference ERA Programme linked to the BSG annual conference.
Dr Lisa Davison

Incoming Chair of Emerging Researchers into Ageing Group (ERA)

Dr Lisa Davison

Newcastle University

Lisa is the Incoming Chair of the Emerging Researchers in Ageing and, as such, provides support and deputises for the Chair.