You are here: Home > About BSG > Who's Who

Organisation & Executive Committee Members

Details of our committee members and officers

The Society’s policies and constitution are approved by the membership through the Annual General Meeting, as detailed in The Constitution. There is provision for Extraordinary General Meetings. The Society's affairs are directed by the Executive Committee of up to 15 members, including the three honorary officers, the President, Secretary and Treasurer and additional co-opted members. The Executive Committee meets on four occasions each year.

Secretariat

Secretariat services are provided by Claire Ford AM&C Ltd who provide management support to the executive committee and act as the initial point of contact for all internal and external enquiries to the society.

Contact the Secretariat on info@britishgerontology.org

Officers

President
Professor Debora Price

Director, Manchester Institute for Collaborative Research on Ageing (MICRA)
University of Manchester

debora.price@manchester.ac.uk

Honorary Secretary
Dr Bernadette Bartlam

Lecturer - Health Services Research, Arthritis Research UK Primary Care Centre, Primary Care and Health Sciences
Keele University

b.bartlam@keele.ac.uk

Treasurer
Dr Anne Laybourne

Co-chair Age Platform
University College London

a.laybourne@ucl.ac.uk

Past Officers

Past President
Professor Sheila Peace

The Open University

sheila.peace@open.ac.uk

Past Treasurer
Dr Rosalind Willis

University of Southampton.

r.m.willis@soton.ac.uk

Executive Committee

Editor of Generations Review
Dr Charles Musselwhite

Swansea University

c.b.a.musselwhite@swansea.ac.uk

Special Interest Groups (SIGs)
Professor Josie Tetley

Faculty of Health, Psychology and Social Care
Manchester Metropolitan University

j.tetley@mmu.ac.uk

BSG Small Events
Dr Louise McCabe

Dementia Services Development Centre
University of Stirling

louise.mccabe@stir.ac.uk

BSG Averil Osborn Award for Participatory Research
Tine Buffel

ESRC Future Leader Research Fellow - Sociology Manchester Institute for Collaborative Research on Ageing
University of Manchester

tine.buffel@manchester.ac.uk

Chair of Emerging Researchers into Ageing Group (ERA) & EU Regional Representative for the IAGG-CSO
Dr Deb Morgan

Swansea University

d.j.morgan@swansea.ac.uk

Chair Elect of Emerging Researchers into Ageing Group (ERA)
Dr Lizzie Evans

Swansea University

elizabeth.a.evans@swansea.ac.uk

International Liaison

Ageing Bites - YouTube Channel & LinkedIn Group - British Society of Gerontology Members on LI

Dr Gemma Carney

Queen's University Belfast

     g.carney@qub.ac.uk

Social Media

Ageing Issues (blog), Twitter (@britgerontology) & Facebook

Dr Hannah Marston

Open University

hannah.marston@open.ac.uk

Devolved Nations
Dr Paula Devine

Queen's University Belfast

p.devine@qub.ac.uk

Publications
Dr Martin Hyde

Centre for Innovative Ageing

Martin.Hyde@swansea.ac.uk