You are here: Home > About BSG > Who's Who

Organisation & Executive Committee Members

Details of our committee members and officers

The Society’s policies and constitution are approved by the membership through the Annual General Meeting, as detailed in The Constitution. There is provision for Extraordinary General Meetings. The Society's affairs are directed by the Executive Committee of up to 15 members, including the three honorary officers, the President, Secretary and Treasurer and additional co-opted members. The Executive Committee meets on four occasions each year.

Secretariat

Secretariat services are provided by Tanya Phillips who will provide support to the Executive Committee and act as the initial point of contact for all internal and external enquiries to the society.

Contact the Secretariat on info@britishgerontology.org

Officers

President

Professor Debora Price

Director, Manchester Institute for Collaborative Research on Ageing (MICRA)
University of Manchester

bsg.president@birtishgerontology.org

Honorary Secretary

Dr Tushna Vandrevala

Department of Psychology, School of Social and Behavioural Sciences at Kingston University

bsg.secretary@britishgerontology.org

Treasurer

Professor Andrew Newman

Professor of Cultural Gerontology, Newcastle University

bsg.treasurer@britishgerontology.org

Elected Officers

President - Elect

Professor Thomas Scharf

Newcastle University

thomas.scharf@ncl.ac.uk

Executive Committee

Working Group on Involving Older People

Dr Charles Musselwhite

Swansea University

c.b.a.musselwhite@swansea.ac.uk

Special Interest Groups (SIGs)

Dr Gary Christopher

'Ageing Well' Theme Lead (Psychological Sciences Research Group), University of the West of England (UWE)

gary.christopher@uwe.ac.uk

BSG Averil Osborn Award for Participatory Research
Dr Tine Buffel

ESRC Future Leader Research Fellow - Manchester Institute for Collaborative Research on Ageing
University of Manchester

tine.buffel@manchester.ac.uk

Chair of Emerging Researchers into Ageing Group (ERA)

Dr Lizzie Evans

Swansea University

elizabeth.a.evans@swansea.ac.uk

Chair Elect of Emerging Researchers into Ageing Group (ERA)

Mrs Nadine Thomas

University of Stirling

Nadine.thomas@stir.ac.uk

International Liaison

Ageing Bites and Videos 

Dr Gemma Carney

Queen's University Belfast

 g.carney@qub.ac.uk

Social Media

Ageing Issues (blog) and Twitter (@britgerontology)

Dr Hannah Marston

Open University

hannah.marston@open.ac.uk

Devolved Nations and GDPR

Dr Paula Devine

Queen's University Belfast

p.devine@qub.ac.uk

Publications and Archiving

Dr Martin Hyde

Centre for Innovative Ageing

Martin.Hyde@swansea.ac.uk

Review of Generations Review and Photo Archiving

Dr Wendy Martin

Senior Lecturer in the College of Health and Life Sciences, Brunel University London 

Wendy.Martin@brunel.ac.uk