You are here: Home > BSG Awards > Outstanding Achievement Award

BSG Outstanding Achievement Award

Applications for 2024 is now closed. 

The Award

The award is made annually to an individual who has made a significant and lasting contribution to our gerontological understanding of ageing, or to improving the lives of older people, in any one or more of the following domains:

  • Academic thinking 
  • Policy
  • Practice
  • Education.   

The award was founded in 2007 at the British Society of Gerontology Annual Conference in Sheffield, when the Society honoured the lifetime achievements in gerontology of its first recipient, Professor Alan Walker.  Previous winners include Baroness Sally Greengross, Tessa Harding, Anthea Tinker, Sara Arber, Chris Phillipson, Tony Warnes, Bill Bytheway, Bleddyn Davies, Malcolm Johnson, Peter Coleman, Julia Twigg, Christina Victor, Clare Wenger, Murna Downs, Sue Adams, Jane Vas, Ann Netten, Paul Higgs, Jill Manthorpe, Judith Phillips, Sheila Peace, Miriam Bernard and Paul McGarry.